I have astigmatism!

Today I went to the eye doctor to learn about getting contact lenses. It turns out I have astigmatism. :(

My eye doctor explained some really interesting things about how my eye works to help me understand this DEVASTATING condition. Don’t worry, it’s not actually that terrible. I’m just disappointed that it’s now 30x harder for me to get super cool contact lenses because I need to wear special toric lenses.

I decided to look up more detailed information to learn about what chemistry has to do with my vision. Check out this awesome resource here!

Eyes work a lot like cameras, which should make our upcoming Photography Project in chemistry quite interesting.  Light that enters the pupil is focused by the lens and strikes the retina located along the inner surface of the back of the eye.

Image

Rod cells on the retina respond to the light- it is mapped as an image along the surface of the retina by activating rods and cons, a series of light-sensitive cells. For an image to be recognized, many photoreceptor cells convert the light into electrical impulses which are transported to the brain via nerve fibers. The brain then creates a picdetermines, according to which nerve fibers carried the electrical impulse, which photoreceptors were activated by the light, and then creates a picture.

What’s wrong with my eye?

Eyes are naturally spherical, but with astigmatism, my eyes are misshapen. This causes the light to be refracted to multiple areas of my retina, causing my vision to be blurry.

What this means is that I have to wear eyeglasses or toric contact lenses. Toric lenses are bigger and heavier than normal contact lenses… I hope I can learn to put them in correctly!

Leave a Reply

